BUCKLE UP

Published by

on

I have several finishes and a couple of so close to being completed projects. I tend to have several quilt and knitting projects in varies stages, and several projects always come to a finish at once. So-here they are…

Finished quilts that I pieced and quilted. Quilt#1: Soldier’s Cot (reproduction fabrics in my stash) , #2: Guild Block of the Month Mystery Quilt. I do not do mystery quilts, I waited til the end of the year to see the quilt before invested any time and fabric, (French General Fabric Line.) I quilted this on my new Bernina Q16 long arm…so fun. #3: Trees, a paper piecing quilt. I bought this fabric at a garage sale $10 total and it was perfect for this quilt, a Sandy Gilreath pattern.

Two ‘almost’ finished sweaters, child size. I have such a block completing the finishing touches on sweaters. But, the kids want these sweaters and I best get a move on here before they outgrow them. The grey sweater is Tin Can Knits-Dog Star. A bottom up design which I have decided I really do not care to knit anymore. The Blue sweater ”Junior Constant Companion”, I believe? Steeking is always a, ‘I hope this works,” moment for me. I’m going to be brave and cut the steek this week, fingers crossed.

Next quilt start in the line up: Wensleydale! I have been looking at this pattern for a good year and its now or never, plus I need a project to sew at an upcoming quilt retreat. Wensleydale you can make with templates or paper piecing, I’m lazy so I will paper piece.

Finally, books I’m keeping close and reading in down time. (The Bird book is my project book with all my project notes.)

Hope your making is enjoyable and brings a smile to your face.

Eileen

7 responses to “BUCKLE UP”

  1. Juliann Avatar

    We must be living under the same moon these days! I love all the projects in this post. I made one Wensleydale quilt block with the paper and I have started to pull fabric for that one. I am not very experienced at foundation piecing so it might be a slow go for me. And I am planning to read Rooted in February. I am not a fan of bottom up sweaters. Currently in line to be finished here are my January socks and my Little Bousta (which is back on track with the changes I made). I got the Blue Zones Kitchen cookbook for Christmas. Lots to explore.

    Like

    1. Eileen Avatar

      January has been a beautiful moon season and I love sharing that space with other makers! Blue Zone Kitchen is fun and I hope to make several meals in the near future, (need to get to grocery store first, been over a month since our usual shop.) Looking forward to seeing pictures of Little Bousta.

      Like

  2. Carolyn Avatar

    What beautiful projects! (And I love, love that project notebook.) I think you’re wise on the mystery quilting…I’d have trouble investing that kind of time and material without knowing if I’d love it.
    You make a very good point about the sweaters — having recipients who are still growing offers a built-in deadline!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mere2007 Avatar

    Wow, Eileen – so many makes! I adore that Trees quilt and of course the sweaters for the littles. Is the steek on the cardigan just for the yoke? or did you get brave and cut the solid fabric already?!

    Like

  4. mere2007 Avatar

    What a great design … and I’m totally betting you’ll be wearing this month!

    Like

    1. mere2007 Avatar

      well oops! I have no idea how that happened … apologies for a comment meant for another blog!

      Like

  5. nanacathy2 Avatar

    Wonderful projects. Love the blue jumper especially. And your notebook. I love a good notebook

    Like

Leave a comment

Previous Post
Next Post
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started