ON THE ROAD AGAIN

Published by

on

Recently, a friend and myself went on a little road trip over to Mitchel NE., I have always wanted to visit Brown Sheep Wool Mill. We had the most beautiful blue sky day to drive out on the Nebraska panhandle.

Brown Sheep wool is one of my favorite work horse yarns with a great price point! I use it often for kids sweater, socks and extra colors to have around for color work patterns. You can order direct from the mill, I like cones for main color and then fill in with smaller pre-wound balls. BUT, if one goes to the Mill you can find so much yarn, every color, weight to meet all one’s knitting needs in the ‘seconds’ room. I have bought their seconds for years and have yet to find any difference from the firsts. Many times they are discontinue dye lots or a knot in center of skein.

After an hour or so at the Mill we went into Scottsbluff, a small town USA kinda place…..I love a small town with a coffee house, bakery, quilt shop, and a Brown’s Shoe Store! We stopped in each of these shops and made purchases!

I should of brought my big camera to take pictures of cows, farms, and the back roads of the panhandle, I forgot….again! Oh well, ‘the best camera is the one in your hand.’

Reading has been happening, mainly to a kindergarten class, (my grandson), and that takes time at the local library to find the perfect 3 books. Five/Six year olds is like herding cats! Kudos to all elementary school teachers!

Finished Northeaster. I enjoy reading books on weather and how people deal with the elements. Some behave stupid, some ignore all the signs and pay for it dearly and some (most) do not fool with Mother Nature.

Reading: ROOTED. I love it- so much to learn and learn we best, before it is all gone! Nature, I believe will save humankind from ourselves! The benefits of being out doors is endless but for me, it’s remembering how small I am in this creation and the interconnection we have with all creation.

7 responses to “ON THE ROAD AGAIN”

  1. Carolyn Avatar

    What a wonderful trip you had! (I think the last place I saw a Brown’s was in Keenesburg, CO.(There’s also a fantastic Glen Miller exhibit at their impressive frontier museum! If you’ve never been, it’s worth stopping by.) I’m a big ‘seconds’ girl–and I’ll bet it’s like a candy store, making all your selections. So glad to hear you had an enjoyable trip and beautiful skies. Such big skies…
    What children’s book did you select? That sounds like it’d be half the fun, browsing children’s lit. How fortunate for your grandson and his class.
    And I’m so glad you’re connecting with Rooted! I found it deeply engaging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eileen Avatar

      Brown’s Shoes seems to be in several small Colorado towns, what surprised me is they are in NE and Wisconsin as well. I checked out of the library all the Julia Donaldson books, fun stories, great illustrations and lots of rhyming. The kids love these books thus far and they hold their attention, a win for me. Always looking for recommendations if you have any for ages 6-9year olds.

      Like

  2. Juliann Avatar

    I hope you will share your fabric purchases too. Oliver Jeffers in a favorite for our small people. There is a fun booked titled I Ain’t Gonna Paint that I use to read when I was invited to kindergarten

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jane Wolfe Avatar
    Jane Wolfe

    I thought those prairie photos looked familiar. I am a Nebraskan. The purchases look wonderful. I’m glad you had blue skies and a nice day for a drive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eileen Avatar

      Thanks Jane, It was a beautiful day and plan another yarn trip soon.

      Like

  4. mere2007 Avatar

    I love the colors in that wintry Nebraska landscape … glad you had a camera handy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Little Room of Rachell Avatar

    Loved the photos and this English reader had to lookup Nebraska panhandle on a map and why the name. Very good. More small town American please!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Previous Post
Next Post
Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started